Honey-baked chicken

I saw this recipe on the Living on a Dime Facebook page and tried it the same day I found it because I had chicken thighs in the fridge defrosted.  It was super yummy and even my husband, a devout chicken loather, said it was “really good.”  It’s the perfect trio of yummy, easy and affordable.  I’m sure this could be put in the slow cooker as well, but I doubt it will brown up as nicely.

I used bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs and turned them once during the cooking time because my oven has strangely placed rack holders and there isn’t a perfect middle (either closer to heating coils on top or bottom).  I also used Dijon mustard instead of the regular mustard and real butter, as I don’t buy margarine.  Plan to cook something else in the oven alongside and get it started early enough because it does stay in the oven for quite a bit.

Honey-Baked Chicken

6 pieces of chicken

1/3 cup butter, melted

1/3 cup honey

2 Tablespoons mustard

1 teaspoon salt

Place chicken in baking dish, skin side up.  Combine rest of ingredients and pour over chicken.  Bake at 350 for 1 hour and 15 minutes, basting every 15 minutes, until chicken is tender and brown.

Serves 4-6

Leave a Reply

